The first One Day International (ODI) of the three-match series between India and Australia is set to take place today at Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai. With Rohit Sharma unavailable due to family commitments, Hardik Pandya will captain the Indian team in his absence. The hosts are heading into the series opener with confidence, having recently defeated Steve Smith-led Australia in the Border-Gavaskar Trophy 2023.

India’s victory over Australia in the Border-Gavaskar Trophy allowed them to retain the title and secure a spot in the final of the ICC World Test Championship. With their focus now on ODI World Cup preparations, India is eager to resume its rivalry with Australia in the white-ball series.

The Indian team will be without key players Rohit Sharma and Jasprit Bumrah, while middle-order batsman Shreyas Iyer has also been ruled out of the entire ODI series due to a recurring lower-back injury. Stand-in skipper Pandya confirmed that Ishan Kishan and in-form batsman Shubman Gill would open the innings for the hosts.

The India vs Australia 1st ODI is scheduled to start at 1:30 PM IST, with the toss taking place at 1:00 PM. The match will be telecasted live on Star Sports 1, and live streaming will be available on the Disney+ Hotstar app and website.

India’s Predicted XI for the 1st ODI includes Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, KL Rahul, Hardik Pandya (C), Ravindra Jadeja, Ishan Kishan, Kuldeep Yadav/Yuzvendra Chahal, Mohammed Siraj, Mohammed Shami, and Shardul Thakur/Washington Sundar.

Australia’s Predicted XI for the match comprises Steve Smith (C), Marnus Labuschagne, David Warner, Travis Head, Cameron Green, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Alex Carey, Mitchell Starc, Adam Zampa, and Nathan Ellis.

As the stage is set for an exciting contest between these cricketing giants, fans around the world eagerly await the beginning of this high-stakes series.

Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here